ISO is known to everyone. It is mentioned, and companies put emphasis on it when advertising, so what is it? It is short for the International Organization for Standardization. It is a standard that determines the quality of a company, and if a particular company has to get certified, they have to meet the requirements of standards. The standard is the representation of the company’s quality, and capacity to provide services that are of high quality.

Benefits ISO:

There are so many benefits of having an ISO certified company. However, you have to be thorough, and follow certain steps to get the certification. The certification will improve all the corners of your organization. The preparation makes the environment conducive for the process, it is better for internal management, wastage is less, profit is increased, and efficiency is enhanced, and it is globally recognized and monitored.



The founding stone for the ISO was set in 1920 when the organization started, but soon it was suspended during the world war. The idea to make the organization an international standards body was put forth with The International Federation of the National Standardizing Associations (ISA) who accepted it. The modern-day ISO came into existence in February 1947, three months after the committee met in London.

Membership categories:

Member bodies, Correspondent bodies, and subscriber bodies are the three types of membership categories you have in the ISO.

Member bodies

Member bodies are the national bodies, and they are the only ISO member that have voting rights. They represent each country. ISO is in 160 countries.


Correspondent member:

These countries don’t have their own standards organization. They are informed about the work of ISO, but they lack any say in the promulgation and don’t have any voting rights.

Subscriber members:

These countries have a small economy and pay fewer membership fees, but they follow ISO. These three are the only type of membership you will have in ISO.


ISO has members, and each member represents each country. The secretariat is based in Geneva, and there is a meeting every year to discuss the objectives. There is a 20-member body that sets the budget, and these members also have 250 technical committees that are responsible for the ISO standards.

How to get it:

In every country there are steps that you have to follow to get the certification, it is long but easy. In the US or UK, the first thing that you have to do is to get the application form, then you have to work with your ISO regulators to set up a quality management system. When it’s done, you have to get a self-declaration form that verifies that you have implemented the QMS properly. Once the self-declaration form is received, you can get the certification.


ISO is an international standards organization that is very popular. If a certain company wants the certification, then it has to meet the requirements of a particular standard.